Library Books Enjoyed–4/3/13

Every week we go to the library on Wednesday for storytime and to check out books. Usually there are at least one or two book finds that are worth sharing. I post reviews on Goodreads, so I’ll generally just share Goodreads reviews here.

I Am Too Absolutely Small for SchoolI Am Too Absolutely Small for School by Lauren Child

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to admit that, while I picked them up reluctantly at first, I have come to love Charlie and Lola. They are completely different from my kids, but ring true as children–and the two siblings obviously like each other, which I always find refreshing in a children’s book, even though I think it happens more than I give the children’s lit world credit for. As with any series that has found commercial acclaim, the original installments by the actual author are the best, so I was thrilled to happen upon one that I hadn’t read before that is really, truly written by Lauren Child.

Lola is not so sure she’s ready to go to school (not entirely unlike my oldest, who starts kindergarten this fall), but her big brother Charlie convinces her that it’s a good idea. That’s basically the plot, but it’s told with the charm that Lola and Charlie bring to any situation and, with the addition of an invisible friend that you can find in the pictures if you look right, it was a hit with our whole family.
Have You Seen My Dinosaur?Have You Seen My Dinosaur? by Jon Surgal

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cute story of a little boy determined to find his dinosaur, despite the incompetence and disbelief of all the grown-ups around him. The rhyme and rhythm are sometimes not quite flowing, but the story is fun to read even so. My kids loved that they could find the dinosaur when the grown-ups in the story couldn’t, and that they got to help the boy at the end.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

