Library Books Enjoyed 4/18/13–Grown-up Edition

This has been a crazy week–mostly fun, with visitors in town, but today included a spill that may be more serious enough to need a cast. I’m also cutting time short on work for my current online class, about holding bilingual storytimes.

All this is to say, this post is late, but enjoy anyway. These are books I read/am reading for me–one is a kid’s chapter book (probably good for late elementary/middle school) and the other a knitting book–instead of with my kids.
Flyte (Septimus Heap, #2)Flyte by Angie Sage

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Enjoyed just as much as I remember enjoying the first Septimus Heap book. I like how some loose ends from the previous book come back and are tied up, and I can see other storylines waiting to be expanded in the next book.

Knitting in Plain EnglishKnitting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I haven’t actually finished this yet, but I returned it to the library for now (and may buy my own copy), so it’s as good as anytime to review. I wasn’t sure what I’d think of this book, especially since the front advertises it as “the only knitting book you’ll ever need.” However, I really enjoyed it. I found Ms. Righetti to be funny and enjoyable to read, and I also found all the chapters I did read to be helpful to me as a still-beginner knitter. I went to both this book and my standard go-to reference, The Knitting Answer Book for a couple recent problems, and they were both helpful in complimentary ways. Knitting in Plain English has the additional benefit of being fun to read for its own sake.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

