Library Books Enjoyed: 5/1/13

The two themes of this particular library edition are

  1. Mo Willems is awesome and you should read everything he’s ever written, probably multiple times.
  2. Speaking of multiple times, we like to get the same favorites over and over.

A Letter to AmyA Letter to Amy by Ezra Jack Keats

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another story about Peter (of Snowy Day fame), one that I had never heard before. Peter decides to mail a letter to invite his friend Amy to his birthday party, but after a mishap in mailing it, he’s afraid she won’t come. The story is sweet, plus it’s good for spring because of the rainstorm. Mr. Keats’ well-known illustrations are of course integral.

Don't Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late!Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! by Mo Willems

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I know we’ve checked this out before, but I’ve never put it on Goodreads until now. The indomitable Pigeon now tries to escape bedtime, despite the bus drive enlisting the help of children reading the story. As fun as the other Pigeon books, and would be great to use in an author study of Willems, since the Pigeon’s own cuddly bunny looks a lot like someone else’s Knuffle Bunny.

Should I Share My Ice Cream?Should I Share My Ice Cream? by Mo Willems (first reviewed on Goodreads 2/3/2012)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally got my hands on this and I love it! Gerald is not shielded from the consequences of too much ruminating, but friendship triumphs in the end! The other household grown-up was skeptical that Piggie was not in most of the book, but the imagining of possible futures put her there in abstentia, and was very true to Gerald’s character (and mine).

Let's Go for a Drive! (An Elephant and Piggie Book)Let’s Go for a Drive! by Mo Willems

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This may be my favorite Elephant and Piggie book of all time.

We first checked it out just before Christmas, and I knew it was a winner when 2 1/2 year old M. spent our 6 hour drive to Maryland reciting, “Drive, drive, drive-y drive drive!” She can now recite almost the entire book from memory. It’s also a great group book, since the refrains invite choral reading.

It doesn’t seem as deep conceptually as We are in a Book!, or , but I think it’s more delightful, both because of the original premise (who doesn’t want to go for a drive when they are kids?), and because of how the inevitable problem (neither character has a car, as it turns out) is solved. It completely deserves the Geisel Honor award it won this year.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

