Library Books Enjoyed, 5/8/13

We had a good crop of library books this week, and while I didn’t personally enjoy all of them, my kids did:

Where Is Home, Little Pip?Where Is Home, Little Pip? by Karma Wilson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have liked almost everything by Karma Wilson, and so have my kids. This is a sweet story about a penguin who gets lost which talks about the meaning of home…the “moral” at the end of the story is still confusing to my 4 year old (but aren’t they going to go home?), but he enjoys it nonetheless.

Who Will Haunt My House on Halloween?Who Will Haunt My House on Halloween? by Jerry Pallotta

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I did NOT like this Halloween book (and not just because it’s May). The girl basically talks about all the things she is scared of at Halloween, and seems to be having a horrible time–but then goes out trick-or-treating happily with her friends, all dressed like these scary things, at the end.

BUT, my kids loved it–I don’t know if was just that Halloween and trick-or-treating are so amazing that no book on the subject can go wrong, or if I’m missing some other appeal factor, but they have either been asking me to read it or looking it over themselves all week long.

Hence the compromise rating of 3 stars.

Who Wants to Be a Poodle I Don'tWho Wants to Be a Poodle I Don’t by Lauren Child

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was looking forward to this one, since I enjoy Charlie and Lola so much, but it turned out to be only ok. The idea of a poodle who does not want to behave very poodle-y is cute, but it was a very long read-aloud, the human in the story was very annoying, and it was just not one that charmed me. The kids enjoyed it but don’t seem to be asking for lots of rereads.

(Extra text to make the pictures space out correctly…feel free to let me know if you know a better way to do this! All my line break tags disappear after I save…)

Who Needs That Nose?Who Needs That Nose? by Karen Clemens Warrick

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Very fun read-aloud–kids see a nose and hear a description (in fairly free rhyme), then guess which animal it belongs to before turning the page. N. LOVED it during storytime at the library (he guessed all of the noses right), and we then had to bring it home and reread several times this week. I like that there is some information about each of the animals at the end of the book, for those who are inclined to want a little more.

Split! Splat!Split! Splat! by Amy Gibson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cute onomatopoeic about playing outside in and after the rain–at times, the rhythm and sounds become a tongue-twister for the adult reading it, but if you can manage it and/or practice a lot, it can flow very nicely.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

