Library Books Enjoyed, 5/15/13

Diego Saves the Sloth!Diego Saves the Sloth! by Alexis Romay

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m not a huge fan of either Dora or Diego, but my kids love them, so we check them out pretty regularly. I like Diego better than Dora because you do actually learn a few animal facts along the way. In this episode, Diego has to save a sleeping sloth from getting knocked off his tree by a windstorm. It feels shorter than some of the other Diego and/or Dora books, so that’s part of why I liked it!

Carl's Summer VacationCarl’s Summer Vacation by Alexandra Day

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve always had reservations about Carl–my innate unease about really big dogs meant I’ve always felt a little nervous about leaving the baby with a Rottweiler. However, Carl has always proven trustworthy (about the baby’s safety, at any rate!) and now my kids have discovered and fallen in love with him.

This is a newer Carl adventure, and the baby has grown up to be a preschooler named Madeleine. Aside from the joy of skipping out on naptime to play with the dog, I think part of the appeal of this particular book is that Carl and Madeleine do many of the things we did last summer–go out in a canoe, pick berries, play on a playground and at a lake, and stay at a cabin. I personally feel like the pictures are brighter and more interesting than some of the older Carl books.

BluebirdBluebird by Bob Staake

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sweet, but sad, wordless book about a boy and a bluebird that befriends him. I liked it, but the kids loved it and requested it multiple times this week–I don’t think the sad part got to them as much as it got to me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

