Books Enjoyed, 7/3/13

The second not-just-library books enjoyed post. This one includes my favorite recent new read (I liked Anna Karenina, but Kat, Incorrigible was just pure fun for me), as well as a classic (Jumanji) that I should have been able to pick up at our library, but had to get my school librarian mother to bring her copy home when we visited. To give the library some credit, our branch is supposed to have 2 copies, but they were both checked out at least 2 weeks in a row. Oh well. This is why it’s good to know multiple librarians!

 

A Big Guy Took My Ball!A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was really looking forward to this new Elephant and Piggie installment, but it just didn’t charm me like some of the others. Don’t get me wrong, it was cute, funny, and sweet, but it just didn’t have that spark that will make it one of my favorites. Also, the kids didn’t ask for repeated rereadings (although since one of them took it into her room for naptime and it did not emerge until we had to return it to the library, that could have been circumstantial evidence).

JumanjiJumanji by Chris Van Allsburg

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Just introduced my 5 year old (and subsequently, his younger sisters) to this classic. I don’t think I’ve read it since college, and it’s still great fun. I think what struck me most this time was how fast the action has to move in a picture book–but it works here, maybe because of Van Allsburg’s amazing pictures?

Kat, Incorrigible (Kat Incorrigible, #1)Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I LOVED this older elementary/middle school historical fantasy novel. When her older brother’s gambling debts lead her eldest sister to agree to try to marry a rich, but unpleasant (and possibly dangerous) older man, 12 year old Kat Stephenson tries to take matters into her own hands. Her first attempt is immediately foiled, but she doesn’t give up, and along the way she finds out that she is the heir to her deceased mother’s powerful magical abilities.

A few reasons why this book is awesome:
-it seamlessly mixes the setting of Regency England with a magical fantasy
-there is romance, but not Kat’s
-Kat doesn’t go running to adults for help, even at the climax of the story
-the sibling relations are both realistic and humorous

I’m glad to have discovered this after Burgis has already written the two other books in the trilogy, so I look forward to reading them, too.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

