Library Books Enjoyed, 7/17/13

And we’re back…

Goldilocks and the Three DinosaursGoldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs by Mo Willems

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I haven’t met a Mo Willems book I don’t like, but with that said, this won’t be a favorite of mine. It was funny, but my main critique would be that much of the humor went over the heads of my kids (age 5, 3, and 1 right now). They didn’t get the often-ironic voice (i.e. statements like the dinosaurs “were certainly not hiding in the woods”). Still, they liked the idea of three dinosaurs instead of three bears, they found it funny that there was chocolate pudding instead of porridge, and the liked Goldilocks’ drastic escape from being a chewy chocolate-pudding filled bon-bon.

Bella's RulesBella’s Rules by Elissa Haden Guest

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bella doesn’t like to follow the rules–then she has to teach some rules to her new puppy. My middle child (currently 3), who also doesn’t like to follow the rules, adores this book. I found the story only so-so, but I thought the pictures were beautiful. It’s not entirely clear that Bella learns to follow rules in the end. However, the pictures of her exploits, and later of her parents helping her to train her puppy, were all very sweet.

Auntie TigerAuntie Tiger by Laurence Yep

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Laurence Yep retells a story a sibling rivalry that’s very similar to Little Red Riding Hood (and even more similar to Lon Po Po, the Chinese version Ed Young retells). Two sisters never get along (Little Sister is lazy and Big Sister is bossy), but they learn to appreciate each other when a tiger disguised as their aunt comes to visit. I only gave it four stars because the pictures weren’t my favorite, but the story was fun, and I also enjoyed the author’s bio (with description of his own sibling rivalry).

Harry the Dirty DogHarry the Dirty Dog by Gene Zion

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A classic that I just rediscovered with my kids. They love how Harry likes to get dirty, they like finding Harry int the middle of all that’s going on, and they think his change “from a white dog with black spots to a black dog with white spots” is really funny.

One detail I notice as an adult is that Harry’s human family members don’t have any names–but it doesn’t really matter because the story is about Harry. I never noticed it as a kid, and I don’t think my kids notice it now. Many grown-ups would agonize over creating the family, but all kids need to know is they are Harry’s family and that’s where he belongs.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

