Library Books Enjoyed, 7/31/13

Not a BoxNot a Box by Antoinette Portis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was adorable and clever. The book takes the form of a conversation between the narrator (presumably a grown-up, or at least a grown-up rabbit) and the bunny shown on the cover. The grown-up keeps asking what the bunny is doing with a box, and bunny keeps explaining that it is NOT a box. The fun part is that the reader can see both what the bunny sees and what the narrator sees: simple line drawings show “grown-up reality” in black and “kid reality” in red. My kids and I both loved it and read it several times during the week we had it.

How to Babysit a GrandpaHow to Babysit a Grandpa by Jean Reagan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was cute, but I thought the concept was better than the actual book. A Grandpa comes to stay for the day with his grandson, and the grandson (who is also the narrator) explains to the reader how you take care of a Grandpa. We all enjoyed it, but it was not a multiple-reread choice.

When the Library Lights Go Out When the Library Lights Go Out by Megan McDonald

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I just didn’t really like this book. My kids seemed to, which is why it gets a three, but it just didn’t click for me–I think the imaginary world of the book didn’t match up with what I thought it would be based on the title. The title seemed to promise a world where life is regularly exciting inside the library after all the people leave, but instead it was a one-time foray out of the puppet box for three puppets. Cute enough, but just not for me.

We’ll see if it gets requested for multiple rereads this week, though.

Miko: No Bath! No Way!Miko: No Bath! No Way! by Brigitte Weninger

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Surprisingly fun book about a mouse who doesn’t want to take a bath, because the bath will erase all the evidence of the wonderful day he’s had. Probably won’t be a favorite, but we all enjoyed it this week.

The Shark KingThe Shark King by R. Kikuo Johnson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have a feeling I’m going to get a lot more graphic novel reading in for my son’s sake than I would for my own. We’ve been checking out “Toon Books,” graphic novels for the elementary and preschool set. This one retells a Hawaiian folktale, and was requested several times over the course of the week. I don’t love reading graphic novels out loud, but this one worked pretty well.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

