Library Books Enjoyed, 8/7/13

A short one this week:

The Three Little Pigs and the Somewhat Bad WolfThe Three Little Pigs and the Somewhat Bad Wolf by Mark Teague

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fractured fairy tales either work for me or they don’t. This one does–I’m not sure if it will work for you, but it does for me.

We heard this one at storytime last week, and I was happy when it was the one my son chose to request (he asks to check out one of the books ready every week; we are lucky that our branch only has the one preschool storytime per week). The twist in this three little pigs story is that the wolf is only somewhat bad (like most of us when it comes down to it), and just really hungry. Also, the pigs’ lifestyle choices are pretty funny, especially if, like me, you enjoy potato chips and soda. All ends well, and the first two pigs learn a little work in the process.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad DayAlexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got this one from the library this week because I loved it as a kid, and I loved it just as much this time. My kids seemed to like it, but haven’t requested repeats yet, so either they need to grow into it a little, or it just doesn’t click for them like it did for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

