Library Books Enjoyed, 8/29/13

I’ve been remiss on library book posts recently, but I am trying to get back into the routine of sharing books we’ve checked out. I should warn you that this week’s crop is not one of my favorites, but I will try to do better next week!

Benny and Penny in Lights OutBenny and Penny in Lights Out by Geoffrey Hayes

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Continuing our search for elementary-friendly graphic novels, we picked up this one a few weeks ago.

I have to say right now that graphic novel format just doesn’t speak to me, so I may not be giving these a fair shake.

I liked this one ok, it’s just that there wasn’t very much of a story to it. Or rather, the story seemed to sneak in between all the other things going on. If I had to synopsize this, I would say that a brother and sister mouse overcome their fear of the dark/boogey-mice to retrieve an important item at bedtime. But that only seems to be a small portion of the book, with lots of regular going to bed antics before and after.

Anyway, I obviously only liked it ok, but it was a big hit with all three kids, and received multiple repeat-reading requests, so it gets its four. Also, I should add that I find the pictures charming, and that all of Geoffrey Hayes’ books are at least fairly short graphic novels, which is good when you have to do read-alouds, because the format just doesn’t read aloud very well (unless you are freer with your sound effects than I tend to be).

So if you too have a budding comic book enthusiast in the pre-reading/easy reading set, I would recommend it.

Those Darn Squirrels and the Cat Next DoorThose Darn Squirrels and the Cat Next Door by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I just happened upon this book by the author and illustrator of Dragons Love Tacos, and to give you fair warning, liking Dragons Love Tacos will not ensure that you like this one. My husband did not. But it happened to work for me (the combination of squirrel and cottage cheese humor basically has me nailed as a target audience member) and my kids liked it, too. Only after 2-3 rereads did I notice that there are other books in the series. So we may have to keep an eye out for those this week…

Walt Disney's CinderellaWalt Disney’s Cinderella by Cynthia Rylant

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This one only gets a three because my three-year-old will currently “read” anything that’s called Cinderella and has a girl with a ball gown. I was especially disappointed because I generally enjoy Cynthia Rylant’s writing style and was hoping to enjoy this one, too. It was just too sentimental for me, with lots of talk about Love (yes, with a capital “L”). Also, it’s called “Walt Disney’s Cinderella,” but the pictures (and the story, for that matter) only look vaguely inspired by the Disney version. I am not saying Disney has the best version, only that if you label it with Disney, it should be more recognizable as Disney.

I hope M. doesn’t ask to check it out again…

The Frog Prince, ContinuedThe Frog Prince, Continued by Jon Scieszka

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Alright, I seem to have been down on most of the books this week. Here is one we all genuinely enjoyed, and even Daddy agreed to repeated rereadings of it. Jon Scieszka uses his fractured fairy tale genius to imagine what happened to the Frog Prince after he and the princess got married. The illustrations are also great fun.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

