Library Books Enjoyed, 9/5/13

This week’s crop is a return to books we all definitely enjoyed:

Annabelle Swift KindergartnerAnnabelle Swift Kindergartner by Amy Schwartz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I checked this out because I remembered enjoying it when I was in elementary school, and it seemed apt, with our oldest starting kindergarten. Both he and the three year old really liked it and asked for it to be reread a couple times.

While some details have definitely changed (most noticeably, the price of milk–although I’m impressed by how cheap milk still is!), the story has held up well over time. Annabelle’s nervousness about starting kindergarten, her frustration when her sister Lucy’s advice turns out to be unhelpful, and her eventual chance to shine still resonate.

Monkey See, Monkey DrawMonkey See, Monkey Draw by Alex Beard*

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a selection from books read aloud at storytime, and while it’s not a personal favorite, I appreciate its quality. The illustration style is unique, and I think the monkeys’ faces are a little creepy looking, but they didn’t bother my kids, and the pictures do incorporate hand, foot, and thumbprints in a way that’s fun. Also, I think the border drawings enhance the story.

Also, I think the story has a nice message, that not all games have to be competitions, but it doesn’t hit you over the head with the message. A fun choice all around.

Cinderella's RatCinderella’s Rat by Susan Meddaugh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one that we just happened upon when I was searching the catalog for more Cinderella stories for my three year old. It’s by Susan Meddaugh, who is more famous for her Martha books, but I like this one better than Martha. The rat is charming and sympathetic as he tells the story, and the way it turns out is completely unexpected. Also, it’s a fairly short fractured fairy tale. We just got it yesterday, and it’s already been reread several times.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

