Library Books Enjoyed, 9/12/13

Another batch of library books that we enjoyed recently:

Cinderella's RatCinderella’s Rat by Susan Meddaugh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one that we just happened upon when I was searching the catalog for more Cinderella stories for my three year old. It’s by Susan Meddaugh, who is more famous for her Martha books, but I like this one better than Martha. The rat is charming and sympathetic as he tells the story, and the way it turns out is completely unexpected. Also, it’s a fairly short fractured fairy tale. We just got it yesterday, and it’s already been reread several times.

Those Darn Squirrels!Those Darn Squirrels! by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We found the original Those Darn Squirrels, and it did not disappoint the members of our family who liked Those Darn Squirrels and the Cat Next Door (that would be the kids and me). I actually felt like this had a more unified story that felt a little less random–and I imagine the story about the cat next door would feel less random now that we’ve read the first volume of the series. Fun, silly, and featuring squirrels and cottage cheese once more–it worked for us!

Dinosaur KissesDinosaur Kisses by David Ezra Stein

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

From the author and illustrator of Interrupting Chicken comes a somewhat less sensitive, but no less funny, story about a dinosaur who tries to give some kisses–completely unsuccessfully. We heard this one at story time and we have reread it at least 10 times since then. It is either my grown-up status or my finicky personality that made me wish it had a happier ending–but my kids did not seem at all troubled that Dinah never mastered the kiss. I do also have to give it points for demonstrating true-to-life sibling relations.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

