Library Books Enjoyed, 10/10/13

Patrick Eats His Peas and Other StoriesPatrick Eats His Peas and Other Stories by Geoffrey Hayes

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I put this one on hold because my son enjoyed his first Patrick book (Patrick in A Teddy Bear Picnic) so much, and it did not disappoint him. This is another collection of short vignettes in graphic novel form, and this one seems to focus on an ordinary day at home (eating veggies, taking a bath, etc.)–because of that, it seemed more coherent to me than the first one. The Toon Book imprint is quickly becoming our go-to imprint for graphic novels for my graphic novel-loving kindergartner.

The Patterson Puppies and the Rainy DayThe Patterson Puppies and the Rainy Day by Leslie Patricelli

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

When the Patterson Puppies run out of things to do on a rainy day (and to be fair, it does sound like they kept pretty busy up until the book starts!), they decide to have an indoor beach day…a fun idea that goes a little awry when their imaginations run ahead of their common sense. I think my kids especially enjoyed this because a similar situation occurred on a recently watched episode of “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.”

I assume there are other Patterson Puppies books, but I’ve not encountered them before. They were fun, and the pictures were vivid and colorful. Nice solid picture book.

Yoko Writes Her NameYoko Writes Her Name by Rosemary Wells

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rosemary Wells is always a favorite around here, and I grabbed this one since my kindergartner has been working hard (and succeeding, with a long name, too!) at writing his name. Yoko’s difficulty is not fine motor skills but learning to write in two languages, and the territory of getting teased for being different is well-considered here. There are several other Yoko books and we’ve enjoyed all of them.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

