Library Books Enjoyed, 10/24/13

Dog in ChargeDog in Charge by K.L. Going

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thought going in that this would end up as a classic “dogs vs. cats” problem story–and I think the author purposely sets it up to look that way–but that’s not how it ends. A cute story about pet chaos while the owners are away.

Lost in the WoodsLost in the Woods by Carl R. Sams II

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked this one up because it was on display and happened to look interesting, and we all enjoyed it. It’s done by a husband and wife wildlife photographer team, and it’s basically a story made up based on a series of photos they took. The story is fine, but nothing that I found overly wonderful, but the photographs really make the book. It’s neat to see such up close photos of the fawn in particular, but also all the other woodland animals. My son was especially taken with the photo where you see a shadow of a wolf. Don’t worry, all turns out well for the fawn.

Rescue BunniesRescue Bunnies by Doreen Cronin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I grabbed this one because it was a Doreen Cronin book I hadn’t heard of before…and it was a hit with my kids. Newbie, the Rescue Bunny trainee is about to complete her field exam while the Rescue Bunnies team rescues a baby giraffe who’s stuck in the mud. She doesn’t do everything by the book, but as her Chief says at the end, she’s “got heart,” and it’s clear she is now a full member of the Rescue Bunny team.

I was a little taken aback by the bluntness with which the possibility of leaving the baby giraffe behind if the approaching hyenas get too close is mentioned, but it didn’t seem to phase the kids. Otherwise, it was a fun read for both kids and adults, and the book was laced with cliched movie lines that the adults might get an extra laugh out of.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

