Library Books Enjoyed, 11/14/13

Without any ado:

Possum Magic Possum Magic by Mem Fox

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve known about Mem Fox for a long time, and I’ve heard about Possum Magic, but we only just got it out of the library and read it ourselves. It was charming, and the pictures were adorable. I also appreciated the glossary and map at the back, so non-Australians could see what magic foods the possums ate and where they traveled to. We reread it several times.

Harry by the SeaHarry by the Sea by Gene Zion

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We have read Harry the Dirty Dog so many times in the last 6 months, and it finally occurred to me to look for other Harry books at the library (having vaguely remembered reading more than one as a kid). We found this one and it was a hit. When I read it, the story came back to me, so I must have enjoyed this as a child, too. The pictures of Harry as a “sea monster” are really funny.

Silly Lilly and the Four SeasonsSilly Lilly and the Four Seasons by Agnes Rosenstiehl

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My graphic-novel-loving children inspire me to keep an eye out for kids’ graphic novels when we are at the library, and this is one I just happened upon. It’s very basic in terms of story…it’s really a set of vignettes about the ways that Lilly plays during each season of the year. The format is also large (usually just one or two panels per page) so it is great for introducing the graphic novel/comic strip format…or for getting kids started making their own comics.

I just liked it ok, but this is definitely a matter of not being the target audience for this book…the kids LOVED it and we reread it several times. They also enjoyed going back and looking through it on their own.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

