SAH Sanity Tip #6: Read a Book

It’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these, but I need a short post.

When staying at home with small children, reading a book is always a good idea. I’m sure this is news to nobody, but sitting down with a book is a quick way to get everyone (relatively quiet). Also, if you need to take a time-out yourself (see Tip #4), reading a few pages from a book can be helpful for calming down. Finally, my kids are now getting old enough that I can instruct them to sit down with a book on their own for a few minutes, and it makes a nice way to enforce some time out from whatever they are doing to drive me crazy without it seeming like a punishment.

Short and sweet, but hey, it works!

Leave a Reply

