Library Books Enjoyed, 12/5/13: Recent Favorites

Here are some of our recent library selections that we have read over and over and over:

I'm a Frog! (Elephant and Piggie, #20)I’m a Frog! by Mo Willems

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Gerald and Piggie continue to delight. We requested this from our library as soon as we saw it was out, and we were not disappointed. This may not top my all-time favorite Elephant and Piggie book, Let’s Go for a Drive, but it was filled with fun, thoughtfulness, and the right kind of twist for all ages to enjoy. The only problem with this series is Mr. Willems can’t possibly write and draw them as quickly as we go through them.

Fly Guy #12: There's a Fly Guy in My SoupFly Guy #12: There’s a Fly Guy in My Soup by Tedd Arnold

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My mom recently introduced our family to Fly Guy and boy, are we fans. The kids LOVE Fly Guy, and despite my initial skepticism, I have to say that I like him a lot, too. He may be gross, but he’s not crude.

In this installment (we have been reading them in no order whatsoever), Buzz and his pet Fly Guy get to go to a motel and fancy restaurant–hijinks ensue when Fly Guy tries to take a bath.

These easy readers are not easy enough for very beginning readers to read on their own, but they are fun enough that non-readers and beginning readers may be memorizing and “reading” them (mine are). They also hold up pretty well to endless repetition. I definitely recommend them!

Fly Guy #4: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Fly GuyFly Guy #4: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Fly Guy by Tedd Arnold

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Since checking this out 6 days ago, I think we have read this book about 50 times. The kids love it. It’s funny, nobody dies, and it served as a good introduction to the song “I Know an Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly.” (Now I need to go track down the Simms Taback book–I think we last checked that out when the 5 year old was 1 or 2.) This is one that I am sure is destined for multiple repeat check-outs.

Señor Pancho Had a RanchoSeñor Pancho Had a Rancho by Rene Colato Lainez

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a version of Old MacDonald Had a Farm…but Old MacDonald’s next-door neighbor, Señor Pancho, speaks Spanish, and so do all his animals! While this isn’t a true bilingual book, I thought it did a nice job of introducing Spanish words to an English-speaking audience, and could equally make a Spanish-speaking audience feel welcome at a largely English-speaking story time.

I like the animal sounds in particular, because it always fascinates me that animals speak different languages, too! My girls liked this a whole lot, because one of our current music class songs is “Vengan a Ver,” a Spanish farm animals song. I wouldn’t suggest this as a bedtime book, because it’s both long and energizing, but at other times of day, it’s great!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

