Library Books Enjoyed, 12/12/13

Some recent finds at the library; 2 we only found because we heard them at story time first.
Chloe, InsteadChloe, Instead by Micah Player

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A cute, colorful story of sibling rivalry that is also a very quick read-aloud. I think my kids liked Chloe’s antics that upset her sister as much because they’ve gotten in trouble for some of them as anything else. Fun and touching.

One Little Lamb One Little Lamb by Elaine Greenstein

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A very short, simple book (each page has a phrase rather than a complete sentence) that takes children through the process of wool becoming yarn and then mittens. The beautiful pictures are probably more than half the appeal, and this also happens to be a nice picture book for any knitters in your life.

The Missing Mitten MysteryThe Missing Mitten Mystery by Steven Kellogg

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t know how long it’s been since I read a Steven Kellogg book, but this was featured at story time last week and we then checked it out. I think it’s cute and fun, but I don’t like it nearly as much as the kids. Obviously, they like the snow, because their firsthand snow experience is still very limited, but I also think they like the elaborate scenarios the girl dreams up and the mystery that has to be solved. A good winter-time read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

