Library Books Enjoyed, 2/3/14

I’ve been meaning to get some more of these posts in, so here we go…no particular theme here, just a few books that we enjoyed in January:

Awesome Space RobotsAwesome Space Robots by Michael O’Hearn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, already I see in my 5 year old son an affinity for reading nonfiction. I saw this robots book and grabbed it because he’d expressed an interest in the Mars rovers. We only read the introductory chapter and the chapter on Mars robots together, and the book was probably a little above his age, even for listening, but he was still engrossed. I’m interested to see his reading choices in a few years…

I thought the book was well-done, with interesting pictures and pull-out facts, an organization that made sense (even to someone who’d had no prior knowledge about the variety of robots that get sent into space), and fairly simple text.

A Isn't for Fox: An Isn't AlphabetA Isn’t for Fox: An Isn’t Alphabet by Wendy Ulmer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure what I thought of the concept of an “isn’t” alphabet, but this one worked pretty well–for each letter, a couple of “isn’ts” led to an “is,” and there was a pretty catchy rhyme scheme. The fun pictures contributed, too.

Good Night, Sleep TightGood Night, Sleep Tight by Mem Fox

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a nursery rhyme book in disguise, albeit a small collection of nursery rhymes. Bonnie and Ben pester their favorite babysitter, Skinny Doug, for more nursery rhymes at bedtime. He obliges…until they absolutely must go to sleep. Something about this completely clicked with my two girls (perhaps that the request for more rhymes was its own rhyme), and we reread this many times. I loved that the illustrator put the three characters into each rhyme as well.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

